Working in Thailand 

Another chapter of my travel closes (at least for the moment). 

I spent the last 10 days working in paradise. When 2 months ago I first went to Koh Lanta, I was so lucky to come across Bee Bee Bungalows, a series of bungalows on the beach, built with bamboo and – as An, the boss of the place told me – following the principle of being as aesthetic, natural and cheap as possible. Everyone will agree that the result is stunning.


Everything is kept very basic and well intertwined with nature and living a simple life : there is no hot water, nor flush in the toilets (you have to throw water from a pot in order to flush), and electricity is wisely combined with candle lights hidden a bit everywhere – which gives every evening spent there a magical atmosphere. Ah, well. You can see I am in love with this place. 


But not only I got the chance to live here for some time. I also could see the people I had met 2 months ago again, be their colleague and become their friend. Share the meals with them (making everybody laugh when I was crying and sweating like nuts with the tons of spicies they always put in the food  – I seriously could not get used to it!!!). Have conversations English – Thai, with none of the two sides understanding the other, but still laughing and getting it. Help, be helped and share. Meet travellers, understanding that we are all “same same, but different”, as Thai people say.

Ning, Tong and Tongka

Nong,  his smile with inclined head and laid back attitude

Ning and his endless energy

Neung ,  always smiling 

The incredible chefs team

Mel and Eike 

This wonderful quartet and their secret identities. Freddy, Jolanda,  Mosa and Dave. 

Laura y Edmon desde Cataluña 

Jasper en Meike,  missing in the pic: Oscar, the abandoned dog they adopted and will bring with  them to the Netherlands 

Luca, my connational and dispenser of traditional deep southern Italian music.

Pirmin and his waiting for future life news

…and so many more of whom I did not take a picture. 

I believe more and more that we shape things through the way we look at them. So when you are full of affection, the world gives you back what you see in it : beautiful people, true nature and authentic souls. Therefore, these past 10 days have been filled with great energy. I am very grateful for having had this experience in my life. See you all around somewhere, some time…

Leave a comment