Philippines part II


In the past weeks I went back to see my friends in the Philippines. So much happened that I don’t really know how to write it down and sum it up. And maybe I don’t really want to.

I just would like to share some realizations I came to. Among dragon attacks of vomit and diarrhoea combo, waking up in the middle of the night because an insect entered in my ear, going through someone else’s pain and holding on together, fighting for believing in intentions and in change, watching flesh and bones and stitches, being discriminated, being misunderstood, losing my Lola….among all this, life still finds a way to be amazing. 

These days were hard, but they still hide in their wrinkles one of the happiest days of my life. A lot of care and attentions. The subtle irony of destiny.

I have a very clear picture of a moment in my mind. I was going somewhere on a motorcycle, in the middle of the countryside, with my very special friend. We stopped on a little bridge and looked down at the kids playing in the water, jumping from a little cliff, while the mother was cleaning up the clothes in the stream. And I wondered, how on Earth have I got the luck of being here, in this very same moment, on this very big planet, to lay my eyes on these children’s happiness? 

I am so lucky. And the universe knows. And I thank for all, good and bad.

One thought on “Philippines part II

Leave a comment